The mission of the department of parks & tourism is to enhance the quality of life in arkansas by promoting, protecting, interpreting and managing the state's natural and cultural resources.


 Executive Director

Richard Davies serves as Executive Director of the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism, overseeing all development and operations of the State Parks, grants and technical assistance to communities for parks, the promotion of the state through the Tourism Dvision, the operation of the State Archives at the History Commission, and the fight against litter with the Keep Arkansas Beautiful commission.

    He has worked for the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism for thirty-nine years, and as the Executive Director of the Department for twenty, serving on the Cabinet of four Governors. He has been named State Parks Director of the Year by the National Association of State Parks Directors, and has been inducted into the Hall of Fame by both the Arkansas Game and Fish Foundation and the Arkansas Hospitality Association, was named Arkansan of the Year in 2004 by the Arkansas Broadcasters Association, and in 2008 was inducted into the Hall of Honor by the Lemke Journalism Alumni Society at the University of Arkansas. He received a Presidential appointment in 1998 as Vice Chair of the National Recreation Lakes Study Commission to make recommendations to the President and Congress on the future of federal reservoirs. Davies also served twenty-seven years in the U.S. Army Reserve, and retired as a Lt. Colonel in 1999.


 Gloria Robins

 Executive Assistant
Gloria Robins, Executive Assistant
(501) 682-7614

 Savannah Mitchell

 Executive Secretary

(501) 682-2535

Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism
One Capitol Mall
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201
1-501-682-7777 (V/TT)

©2009 Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism. All rights reserved.